Página 1 de 7

DEMOS killing ZX-UNO?

Publicado: 30 Jul 2016, 17:49
por YERZMYEY
Well, not exactly killing, this time (it has nothing to do with the effect I discovered in the games' case) but there is a number of demos that don't work properly.
I was wondering if You'd be interested in such a list. I could make for You a list of demos that have problems working on ZX-UNO.
If You intend to develop the cores, then maybe You'd like to know what can be fixed.

If so - let me know, pls. I could put the titles (and links) here.

Regards,
Y

Re: DEMOS killing ZX-UNO?

Publicado: 30 Jul 2016, 19:00
por antoniovillena
Yes, put the list.

Re: DEMOS killing ZX-UNO?

Publicado: 31 Jul 2016, 20:25
por azesmbog
YERZMYEY escribió: list of demos that have problems working on ZX-UNO.

Is author of the post is not available, can I say?
Pentagon mode works, but not exactly
Border in Pentagon one clock 1-t, in other models - 4-t.
the example of the Border
ImagenImagen
Imagen - real
Border Create - https://zxaaa.net/view_demo.php?id=7367
second trouble - ibid
part of the main screen after drawing jumped up !! Perhaps the problem with incorrect timings processor?
Imagen
Check the program for real ZX-Uno please :)
https://zxaaa.net/get.php?f=DEMO4/borcre.zip
To be continued....

Re: DEMOS killing ZX-UNO?

Publicado: 01 Ago 2016, 14:14
por mcleod_ideafix
I am aware of the border issue. Pentagon timings are not fully implemented, as the border 1T state change would need a redesign of the ULA data path. I will test them to see if there is something I can do to improve the visuals a bit.

Thank you very much!!

Re: DEMOS killing ZX-UNO?

Publicado: 01 Ago 2016, 14:24
por mcleod_ideafix
azesmbog escribió:part of the main screen after drawing jumped up !! Perhaps the problem with incorrect timings processor?

I think I know this one :D It's the loading process, that puts the name of the file to load on screen, making it to scroll. Will test if it is that.

EDIT: Yes, it was that. If you modify the BASIC loader and add

Código: Seleccionar todo

10 POKE 23739,111: PRINT AT 0,0;

There is no more screen jumping. The border issue is not as easy to fix, I'm afraid :D

I'll take a look at the ULA datapath to see if there is something I can do about it.

Re: DEMOS killing ZX-UNO?

Publicado: 01 Ago 2016, 21:48
por YERZMYEY
Ah, so this particular phenomenon rather will not get better?
I noticed the same thing, although in another demo - "RAGE": everything works, and the final part - not.
https://youtu.be/DjzkQLgdpto?t=3m6s
DOWNLOAD: http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=1929

Will look for stuff when I have some time.

Re: DEMOS killing ZX-UNO?

Publicado: 01 Ago 2016, 22:16
por mcleod_ideafix
Imagen
Where can I get this demo?

Imagen
And this one?

This is the best I can go without modifying the ULA datapath, only controller is modified to accept a new border colour on every pixel clock, but there are delays in the datapath that must be bypassed, so this is not perfect.

IMG_5883.JPG


IMG_5884.JPG

Re: DEMOS killing ZX-UNO?

Publicado: 01 Ago 2016, 23:19
por YERZMYEY
Hmmm, strange. Seems like they come from the "3BM openair" party
http://www.pouet.net/party.php?which=1575&when=2015
but I cannot see the border demos on the screenshots.

Maybe You could check out those instead (considering their descriptions) -
http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=57610
http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=66295
http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=54207

Tomorrow I have a hard day too but maybe since Wednesday, or at least in weekend I would have some time to sit over it.

Re: DEMOS killing ZX-UNO?

Publicado: 01 Ago 2016, 23:35
por azesmbog
It's not exactly a demo, likely drawing on Border :))
but for the timing of the Pentagon. For timings 48 - 128 my crafts
probably seen everything?
In the emulator, you can see the correct results.
Drawings on the Border is easy) but for a long time)

Re: DEMOS killing ZX-UNO?

Publicado: 02 Ago 2016, 00:30
por mcleod_ideafix
YERZMYEY escribió:Ah, so this particular phenomenon rather will not get better?

It may. It is only that I'd like to do it altering the datapath as little as possible.

YERZMYEY escribió:I noticed the same thing, although in another demo - "RAGE": everything works, and the final part - not.

I think that particular demo works now with the lattest additions to the core :)
IMG_5885.JPG