Newbie question: Sync problems when connecting to TV/Monitor

Dudas, cuestiones, sugerencias y peticiones en general sobre el proyecto / Questions and requests about the project
Eratosthenes

Newbie question: Sync problems when connecting to TV/Monitor

Mensaje por Eratosthenes » 14 Sep 2017, 21:46

Hi there,

to me the ZX-UNO is a great piece of hardware as it allows me to use any ZX Spectrum I can imagine as if it's real.

As an absolute newbie though (got my ZX-UNO today :D ) I've got issues connecting the device to my TV or monitors.

I think this issue has been discussed here several times but as I can't speak spanish I'm not able to use the search function... :(

1.: using RGB I've got massive synchronisation problems
2.: using VGA the TV says "incompatible mode" and "can't be displayed"

The more black is shown the bigger problems I have. If for example BORDER 0 is used the display is completely unsynced.

Added to this post some screenshots showing the problem.
uno_rgb01.jpg
B/W picture, nearly OK. The picture is moved slightly to the left, having a black stripe on the right. Just minor sync errors at the very top right of the screen.
uno_rgb02.jpg
Using black background makes creates sync errors.
uno_rgb03.jpg
ZX-UNO BIOS V0.63 is used...

Are there any hints how I can use my ZX-UNO?

Thanks for the info.
Nine out of ten voices in my head say: "You're not mad!" - The tenth humming the melody of Pong <click> ...

antoniovillena

Re: Newbie question: Sync problems when connecting to TV/Monitor

Mensaje por antoniovillena » 14 Sep 2017, 21:53

1. About RGB problem use CSYNC.TAP
2. About VGA problem. Press ScrollLock 1 or 2 times. If you can see video is because your monitor accepts 60Hz. Go to the BIOS and put VGA output and 60Hz. And low the frequency until you have sync problems again. The frequency is proportional to the speed, so at 55Hz you will have a zx spectrum accelerated at 110%

Eratosthenes

Mensaje por Eratosthenes » 14 Sep 2017, 21:56

Hi,